Skip to content

New Belgium Trippel

July 24, 2010

Brewery: New Belgium Brewing Company
Beer: New Belgium Trippel, 12 oz. bottle
Style: Belgian Trippel
POP: Whole Foods, Lakeview, Chicago
Price: $9.99, 6-pack

New Belgium Trippel

You may remember from a previous post that I was geeked up by the (apparent) arrival of New Belgium Trippel to the Chicago market. See, that post was in February, and I was supposed to see this beer hitting shelves sometime in April. Well hi there, it’s late July, and I finally picked up my first sixer of this bad boy last week. Although, it was the last one on the shelf at Whole Foods, so I’d say I might not have been the only person anxiously waiting its arrival.

Anyway. It’s here. And it’s in the new style packaging. As always, poured into my lovely Dogfish Head globe glass, this looks like everything that a nice trippel should be: golden-amber hued with a slowly rising and dissipating white head.

Coriander!

I don’t know that I’ve ever known what coriander tastes like before this, although I suppose I could say that it’s the magic ingredient in the New Belgium Trippel that makes it so wonderful. It’s got a bit of a crisp hop bite to it, but not a whole lot. But it’s an interesting bite – which, after raiding my spice rack for a sample, I can definitely say is coriander. The finish is crisp and clean, more so than a few other trippels that have a lingering yeasty flavor. This is a great beer for summer, and the fact that it comes in easily portable 12 oz. bottles encourages sipping this beer outside in the fading summer sun.

Final verdict: At $9 or $10 a six pack, I’d put this up against a lot of more expensive (and real) Belgian trippels. I’ll buy it whenever I see it, which hasn’t been a whole lot.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 2:08 am

    Brian,

    Glad more folks are trying New Belgium’s Trippel. I personally am not a fan of this brewery or really any of their lines and their Trippel seems to come off…well…rather flat and lacking in many areas in my opinion.

    Have you had a chance to try their entire line up yet? I’ve actually found that their Ranger IPA is by far (for me anyway) the most doable, though still far from my favorite IPA’s. Also, if and when you get the chance you should try their 1554 on tap as it’s far better than in the bottle. Though again, still far from the best I think ;).

    They’re right up there on the same coast and really close to each other…they should take some lessons from DogFishHead! Ha!

    Ilya

  2. July 30, 2010 1:41 pm

    I have tried most, if not all of New Belgium’s line. I can understand not liking their entire lineup. They have a very distinct style that comes through in all of their beers, so if you don’t like one or two, chances are you’re not going to like any of ‘em. Review of the Ranger IPA is here: http://thebeerstudent.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/new-belgium-ranger-ipa/
    I’ve never seen 1554 on tap – I will have to seek that out!

    BTW, New Belgium is in Fort Collins, Colorado, not the East coast.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

