Skip to content

Goose Island Hex Nut Brown Ale

August 31, 2010

Brewery: Goose Island Beer Company
Beer: Hex Nut Brown Ale, Pint
Style: Brown Ale
POP: Goose Island Wrigleyville
Price: $5?

I live on the North side of Chicago. I don’t live in Wrigleyville proper, but I am walking distance from Wrigley Field. Though I’m mostly indifferent about baseball, I did grow up a White Sox fan. So…yeah. But all my friends are Cubs fans, so as such, I’ve been to way more Cubs games than Sox games.

Mikey likes it!

The beginning of August was no exception. My friend Mike, a teacher, had some time in between the end of his grad school classes and when he had to go back to teaching in Indianapolis. Dude headed up here to catch a weekday Cubs game, and I of course accompanied. Because my schedule is flexible like that, and it rules.

Seeing as how I’m pushing 30 and I prefer to drink flavorful beer out of clean glasses, most bars in Wrigleyville aren’t my favorite. But a saving grace for me every time some pregame beers need to be had is Goose Island’s Wrigleyville location. While not as robust of a tap selection as their main Clybourn location, this definitely does the trick.

This day I tried their Hex Nut Brown Ale, formerly just the Nut Brown Ale, and now only available on tap in brewpubs. (This article explains why – that basically everyone’s going gaga for Belgians and IPA’s right now, and since breweries have to keep the lights on, are brewing the more popular styles.) Goose Island’s brown ale comes in a pint, cold and with a foamy off-white head. The taste presents hints of chocolate and lots of malt flavor with a low carbonation, almost creamy feel. I do find it to be a little lacking in flavor though. I would describe it as watery, but that would take away from the excellent texture of this beer. Maybe I just wanted a fuller finish. A sessionable beer for sure, and now a rarity.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Guamanian permalink
    August 31, 2010 3:42 am

    I think you should come to KC and check out some beer here.

  2. September 6, 2010 5:50 am

    I’m so envious that you can get ahold of anything Goose Island. So help me…one of these days I will get a trailer full on a trip to Chicago! :)

    That being said…

    …I love nut brown ale’s and would love to give theirs a try. Sam Smith’s Nut Brown Ale still stands as my top Nut Brown Beer, but admittedly I haven’t had many of those of that style.

    DogFishHead should give that style a shot…it would be an epic attempt.

    Ilya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

