Skip to content

Lost Coast 8 Ball Stout

January 6, 2010

Brewery: Lost Coast
Beer:
8 Ball Stout, 22 oz. bottle
Style:
Stout
POP:
CityWide Liquors, Downtown South Bend, IN
Price:
$4.99

I knew very little about this beer other than it was $5 and I don’t think I’d seen it in Chicago.

Poured into my beloved Stone pint glass, I was immediately worried. First, it just felt thin. You know how when you pour a REALLY good stout, it just comes out thick and almost syrupy? Yeah, this was like pouring black water out of a double deuce. VERY little head that went away immediately, almost looked as if it was flat. (It wasn’t.) Unfortunately, it tasted as thin as it felt. Not bad flavor, but the mouthfeel (I really hate that word and will generally refrain from using it) really killed it. I mean yeah, it kinda had that oatmeal/coffee sort of taste, but overall, thin is the best way I can describe it.

Final verdict: Nope, wouldn’t buy it again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

