Skip to content

Avery/Russian River Collaboration Not Litigation

January 7, 2010

Brewery: Avery/Russian River
Beer:
Collaboration Not Litigation Batch 3, 22 oz. bottle
Style:
Belgian Strong Ale
POP:
Binny’s Beverage Depot, Lakeview, Chicago
Price:
$7.99?

Look, I know the foil is there to make it look fancy, but after unsuccessfully trying to pry it off, I just hacked at the damn thing with my bottle opener, nearly sending a shard of aluminum tumbling into my beer. Not cool, man.

Using my Dogfish Head globe, this beer pours a dark amber color with a thin white head that dissipates quickly. Really nice lacing on the glass. Smell is overwhelmingly sweet and yeasty. Tastes like a Belgian should, with just a tiny bit of bitterness to remind you it’s a strong ale. Finish is full, leaving a lot of yeasty aftertaste. Not bad.

Pouring the rest of the bottle, I noticed some sediment at the bottom. Guess this one’s a bottle conditioned ale. Careful as I was, I still couldn’t keep a couple of floaties (sinkies?) from dropping in the second pour. Oh well.

Final verdict: I’d buy it again, especially if it’s on sale.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 9:43 pm

    i must have subconsciously selected this beer from reading this because i just opened this one!

Leave a Reply

