Skip to content

Brooklyn Brewery Black Chocolate Stout

January 15, 2010

Brewery: Brooklyn Brewery
Beer:
Black Chocolate Stout, 12 oz. bottle
Style:
Well…it’s a Black Chocolate Stout. Obviously.
POP:
Binny’s Beverage Depot, Lakeview, Chicago
Price:
$7.99, 4 pack

Browsing around Binny’s, I saw a fancy lil’ display for this winter release from Brooklyn Brewery. I’ve been a fan of Brooklyn Brewery since the days where I had a friend in Brooklyn that would often make visits there. They made a solid Pale Ale, Lager, and the IPA is a more finely crafted one than many of the brutal hop monsters cranked out by various west coast breweries. Anyway, as I’ve been very much into the stouts lately, I grabbed it.

A later phone call with (again) the lovely lady behind saysgranite.com confirmed that, yes, in fact, I had seen it before. In her words, “Remember, you had it at Hopleaf? I said it was undrinkable.” Oh well then. I do remember that, but I don’t remember it being undrinkable.

Well, maybe it was sitting in the back of my mind then, but I definitely didn’t have the same reaction to the bottle poured into my Dogfish Head globe that I did back at Hopleaf. It’s a bit too chocolate-y for my tastes, or maybe it’s just the chocolate they used in the brewing process. Something just tastes a bit off-kilter. Not bad though, and there are still a few espresso notes that pop through. The pour and mouthfeel are just a tad thin, but again, like always, warming helps. Not bad, but not knocking my socks off either.

Final verdict: I probably won’t buy it again. Maybe on tap if it’s cheap.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 7:02 am

    It was so dark and bitter, like baking chocolate. There was a slightly sweet flavor… but I think it was due to my company. =)

Leave a Reply

