Skip to content

Samuel Smith’s Nut Brown Ale

January 19, 2010

Brewery: Samuel Smith’s
Beer:
Nut Brown Ale, 550ml bottle
Style:
English Brown Ale
POP:
Trader Joe’s, Lakeview, Chicago
Price:
$3.99

Though I’ve definitely been on a Stout kick lately, if forced, I’d say that nut brown ales are my favorite style of beer.

Pours a rich brown – can we call it mahogany? Yeah, we’re calling it mahogany. Anyway, a nice deep beer with just a thin off white head that sticks around for the most part. Smells malty and nutty. Surprisingly, the taste doesn’t quite live up to the smell. I mean, it’s good, but just not as full bodied as I’d like. The bulk of the flavor is at the end of the taste and in the aftertaste. The foreground of this beer just feels and tastes a bit thin.

I mean, at 4 bucks a pop or less for one of the premier English brown ales from an old school British brewery is music to my ears. And taste to my tastebuds. I guess. It’s nothing exceptional, but a really good example of an English brown ale if you’re trying to introduce the style to someone.

Final verdict: I’d buy it if it’s on sale.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 10:11 pm

    i’ve been on a brown ale kick lately too, and i just started reading, so forgive me if you’ve already reviewed it, but san diego’s alesmith makes a good one: nautical nut brown. you might need to come back so you can try some!

    • January 29, 2010 11:08 pm

      Ah, I love Nautical Nut Brown! Alesmith is the SD brewery I miss most. They don’t really distribute outside of the southwest, which is a bummer. Good taste!

Leave a Reply

