Skip to content

Two Brothers The Bitter End

January 26, 2010

Brewery: Two Brothers           
Beer:
The Bitter End, 12 oz. bottle
Style:
American pale ale
POP:
Trader Joe’s
Price:
$8.49, 6-pack

Aaaa-aaa-aaa-aaaafternoon delight. It’s Friday, and my mid-day trip to Trader Joe’s yielded a fresh six-pack (that was already cold!), so it’s pizza-and-beer Friday lunch. Woohoo.

I haven’t been tracking down a whole lot of local beers. Obviously my infatuation with Half Acre will cause me to continue to seek their stuff out, but Two Brothers is another local (Chicago metro area, not city) brewery that puts out some pretty amazing stuff. The first one of theirs that I tried was the Domain DuPage French Country Ale that DMK Burger Bar has on tap. Absolutely phenomenal, and this was kinda coming down the tail end of my Belgian kick.

Pours a nice orange/amber color with a one and a half finger head. Dissipates slowly, leaving some lacing and a nice thin layer on top. Very small bubbles of carbonation continues cascading up my pint glass…so far, so good. The smell is overtly hoppy, akin to a west coast pale ale. The taste…leaves a bit to be desired. It’s got a nice hop finish, much more than the 30 IBU’s would suggest. But honestly, that’s really all I’m getting. The front of this beer just kind of lacks the heady “oomph” that I normally get from some of my favorite pale ales. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not bad, and I’m starting to warm up to it towards the middle to bottom of the glass. (Pun intended.) This would be a good bet at a bar, quite sessionable. I almost picked up their rye ale, but at almost $11 for a 4-pack, I wasn’t thrilled about jumping on a beer style I’m really unsure of. I do still want to try the Two Brothers golden ale, and of course the French country ale is superb. But for now…it’s a good thing I’ve got friends coming over this weekend.

Final verdict: I could take it or leave it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brad K permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:32 pm

    agreed on the the DuPage French Country Ale, that was my the beer that made me start paying attention to Two Bros.

  2. Shayne Golden permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:12 am

    Two Brothers makes some really good stuff. The rye is fantastic, but by far, in my humble opinion, Hop Juice is the best Double IPA on the market. When they say Hop Juice, they mean it. 100.1 IBU! and %9.9 ABV. The label’s got a picture of a pair of pliers squeezing a hop bud for crying out loud. This beer isn’t for everybody, but if you like hops, this is king.

Leave a Reply

