Skip to content

Rogue Yellow Snow IPA

February 11, 2010
tags: , ,

Brewery: Rogue Ales
Beer:
Yellow Snow IPA, 22 oz. bottle
Style:
American IPA
POP:
Binny’s Beverage Depot, Lakeview, Chicago
Price:
$6.49

So you know how magazines come out a month before the month listed on the cover? And how a model year of a car is available in June the year before? Apparently beer does this too. While it was exciting to see some of my favorite spring ales popping up, why is it damn near impossible to find some winter warmers? IT’S EARLY FEBRUARY! We’re in the middle of snowpocalypse! The high today was 27! I just walked home in a foot of snow, and that doesn’t make me crave a citrusy spring ale. Leave ‘em up a little longer, okay guys?

A Rogue Yellow Snow IPA in its natural habitat.

So, unable to pick up anything of interest, I did spot the Rogue Yellow Snow IPA in the cooler. That’s not to say this was an afterthought – I would have picked this one up eventually, but an IPA was not necessarily on my brain today. So we’ll see. First of all, with all this nice dry snow poofing up all around metropolitan Chicago, I’m getting really excited for my snowboarding trip in a couple weeks. See, the folks at Rogue know that snowboarders like to grow beards and drink beer. That’s why this beautifully painted bottle picturing a dude with ski goggles raising a strong-armed glass in the air (Rogue’s signature bottle art) piqued my interest.

Pours a cloudy amber with a one finger head. Aroma is floral hops, much as I expected. A little bit of citrus and plenty of bitterness in the taste. Boy, is this beer thick for an IPA! The carbonation is perfect and really lively. Even on the second pour, small bubbles continue rising from the bottom of the glass. Lots of lacing as well showing that like most Rogue ales, this one’s really well crafted. I’ll be honest, I like this beer better when it’s colder. As it warms, the mouthfeel just seems a bit off, but the crispness of a just-out-of-the-fridge IPA can’t be beat.

Final verdict: I’d buy it again, especially if it’s on sale.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shayne Golden permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:05 pm

    Love the Yellow Snow. It is a lot thicker than most IPA’s but I don’t mind. The citrus and hoppy madness that twirls around your mouth is fantastic. Rogue makes some good stuff, but this is one of my favorites. Maybe I should try snowboarding. I drink lots o’ beer and grow the beard in winter time as well. The most sporty thing I’ve ever done in the winter is tubing.

  2. February 6, 2011 10:30 pm

    Great review! This is a very good beer. I just reviewed it Friday at http://www.beerisseur.ca as well.

    In fact while I was searching for the beer I stumbled up on your blog. Which, I have to say, is a nice blog. I will be adding it to my blogroll and checking in often.

    I appreciate the personal touch in the review. That is something I should work a bit on doing.

    Prost!

Leave a Reply

