Skip to content

La Chouffe Golden Ale

March 11, 2010

Brewery: Brasserie D’Achouffe
Beer:
La Chouffe, 750ml bottle
Style:
Belgian Golden Ale
POP:
Trader Joe’s, Lakeview, Chicago
Price:
$9.99

One. Pour that beer in a glass.

So after a lively (not very) afternoon of watching college basketball, I decided it was 5 o’clock somewhere and popped open this green bottle with a goofy gnome on it. Nah, it’s nothing random, I meant to buy this, and I’ve had stuff from D’Achouffe before. It’s just fun to say “green gnome bottle.” Go ahead. Try it.

Two. Drink that beer from a glass.

Poured into my Dogfish Head globe, it’s a hazy straw color with a pretty lively white head that takes a bit to settle down. Unlike quite a few Belgian golden ales I’ve had, the smell on this one is dry, almost champagne-like, and heavy with spices. The taste is about the same, well spiced, which is surprising considering its light golden color. I’m not crazy about the mouthfeel on this; the carbonation seems a bit too lively. But it’s not bad. The taste is spot on, spicy all around: front, middle, and finish. I did get a hint of funky aftertaste, kinda similar to what I get with Duvel, another popular beer that I just don’t always see eye to eye with. It’s not a bad aftertaste, so to speak. Just something that isn’t tops on my palate.

Final verdict: I could take it or leave it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kyle permalink
    March 11, 2010 7:58 pm

    Fun fact: you used the word “lively” 3 times in that review. You should have made it 4 and referenced Blake Lively. Not because she has anything to do with beer. But because she’s hot. That’s relevant information for your readers, right?

Leave a Reply

