Skip to content

Cucapa Obscura

July 20, 2010

Brewery: Cucapa Brewing Company
Beer: Cucapa Obscura, 12 oz. bottle
Style: American Brown Ale
POP: Shipment from San Diego, CA
Price: Gift exchange!

The San Diego portion of the beer trade.

A while ago my buddy Kyle and I agreed to do a beer exchange, sending beer unavailable in our respective areas to each other. (I have yet to uphold my end of the bargain. I’m on it, Kyle, I swear.) Now, I really missed Alesmith Brewing out of San Diego, so I requested a couple bombers of their brew along with a Mexican craft beer that I’d been hearing a lot about called Cucapa Obscura. I honestly didn’t know a whole lot about this beer other recommendations from a few different people in San Diego. Some searching at a couple retailers confirmed that somehow Cucapa has been trickling into the Chicago area, but I have yet to see Obscura anywhere yet.

Cucapa Obscura, an American brown ale, pours dark with a bubbly head that dissipates immediately into a thin film. It smells rich like a brown ale should, and I’m pleasantly surprised at its opaqueness and color. Very little light is getting through, leading me to believe this will be a full-bodied brown ale – one of my favorite beers.

The first taste, I’m a bit unimpressed. Huge soda-like bubbles are a bit harsh up front, but I will say that the finish is nice. That’s really about it. Any forward flavors are lost on the ultra biting carbonation.

This ain't your typical Mexican beer, kid.

Apparently it’s available on tap, though limited. I really would like to try this out of a proper draft system, hopefully smoothing out some of the bite and maybe helping out with head retention. I really do like the rest of the beer though, and as it warms and loses a bit of the carbonation, I’m liking it more. The malts have a nice flavor to them that’s too often lost in some other brown ales, which makes it even more impressive that this comes from a Mexican brewery.

Final verdict: I will buy it if I see it on draft, or maybe if it’s on sale.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 7:59 pm

    fair enough! the el take it easy (new place opened by the linkery people) has it on tap, i might get over there to give it a try. cheers!

Leave a Reply

